Baked Meatballs

For my first attempt at cooking in the new year, I decided to make meatballs.  Why?  I like meatballs, the recipe didn’t seem too difficult, and they seemed like something I should know how to cook.

Meatballs

I used this recipe.  It yielded 32 meatballs, most of which I froze.

1 pound hamburger, grass-fed if possible
2 eggs, beaten with 1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1 cup panko or bread crumbs
1 small onion, minced or grated (1/2 a large onion)
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon salt
freshly ground pepper to taste
1/4 cup minced fresh flat-leaf parsley or basil

Mix all ingredients with hands. Form into golf ball sized meatballs. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

My tweaks:

  • I used a pound of ground turkey instead of ground beef, like I do for most recipes that call for ground beef.  It’s healthier and tastes the same with all of the seasonings.
  • I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt.  I read somewhere that it gives recipes more flavor.  I’m going to try to do this in the future when possible.
  • I used dried basil (lazy, I know, but it’s much cheaper and still tastes good).

Things I learned:

  • The difference between shredding and grating.
  • Where bread crumbs are located in the supermarket (by the spices, not in the bread aisle as I’d assumed…).
  • 4 oz of solid Parmesan cheese does not equal 1/2 cup of grated cheese.  I bought a 5 oz block thinking that most of it would be used in the meatballs.  However, it took less than half of the block to fill 1/2 a cup.  So yay, more Parmesean cheese for future recipes!

Things I need to work on:

  • Mincing onions — the size of onions I used can more appropriately be classified as “diced.”  However, I like onions and although the meatballs looked a little funny with big chunks of onion in them, they tasted fine.  After the fact, I found this excellent Food Network article on how to slice, dice, and mince onions.  It should be very helpful the next time I need to cut an onion.
  • Is it possible to grate onions?  This technique just seemed to make a mess.  Maybe if I had a better grater?

All in all, I was quite pleased with how the meatballs turned out.  Yum!

Spaghetti and Meatballs

4 thoughts on “Baked Meatballs

  1. Those look yummy! And I’m telling you, the key to mincing onions is rocking the knife back and forth with your hand on top of the dull side of the blade. Not sure about grating them… maybe it would be possible with a citrus zester?

  2. The only time I ever grate onions is for potato pancakes, and I dread it. Makes the whole kitchen stink. Justine’s rocking-the-knife technique works well. The key to minced vs. diced is patience.

Leave a Reply

