Quinoa Caprese Salad

Where do I begin?  First of all, I had no idea that quinoa even existed until I stumbled upon Justine’s Pinterest page.  And I only learned how to pronounce it because she mentioned it in the office.

How did I make it this long in my life without it?  It is delicious and super easy to make.

Quinoa Caprese Salad

Here is the recipe.  It made three large servings.

1 cup quinoa, cooked and cooled
1 pint grape tomatoes, sliced
1 English cucumber, sliced
6 oz fresh mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
black pepper

Cook quinoa according to package directions, cool.  Chop and slice veggies and cheese, add to quinoa.  Toss mixture with olive oil, vinegar and black pepper.

My Tweaks:

  • The 5.46 oz package of roasted garlic quinoa that I used made about 1 3/4 cups cooked quinoa — I just used it all.
  • I used 8 oz of fresh mozzarella (hey, that’s how big the package was, and who doesn’t like more cheese?).
  • I drizzled a little more balsamic vinegar on top.

Thoughts:

  • I will probably use a regular cucumber next time.  At $2.50 each, I don’t think an English cucumber is really worth the extra cost (regular cucumbers currently cost 99 cents each, less in the summer, even less at the local Hispanic market).  The dish seemed a little cucumber-heavy, but at the same time, cucumbers are super healthy and very filling.
  • Is there really only one brand of quinoa?  $2.99 (sale price) for 1 3/4 cups cooked seems pretty pricey.  The brand I bought also has a “black bean” flavor.  Does it come in larger packages?  Maybe in health food stores?

Conclusion:  While I already knew that tomato, basil, and mozzarella could do no wrong, the additional of the light and fluffy quinoa makes for an easy, light, healthy, and quite refreshing meal!

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Caprese Salad

  1. Happy to find a use for quinoa, which I always thought of as bird-seed (or maybe that’s amaranth). Actually, we also love the caprese salad, so something healthy to go with all the cheese can’t hurt.

  2. You share interesting things here. I think
    that your website can go viral easily, but you must give it initial boost and i know
    how to do it, just search in google for – mundillo traffic increase go
    viral

Leave a Reply

