Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Protein Bars

So I have been slacking in my blogging, but fear not, I have not been slacking in my cooking!

As some of you may know, I am training for my second Tough Mudder competition.  I am trying to incorporate more weight training and pushups into my workouts, and realized I probably needed more protein in my diet.  A woman in one of my gym classes made peanut butter protein bars about a year ago, and I decided it was time for me to give them a try.

On Saturday, I made some using this super easy recipe:

1 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup honey, or to taste
1 1/2 cups chocolate whey protein powder
1 cup uncooked oats
3 tablespoons water
6 tbsp Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chips

Mix the peanut butter and honey in a bowl, microwave for 30 seconds.  Add the rest of ingredients and mix together. Mixture should be crumbly and slightly moist.  Press (hard) into a 8×8 tray and refrigerate until solid.  Cut into 16 equal bars.

Mixture in Dish

These are really easy to make and they taste good (the chocolate chips help).  The only problem is that they are pretty crumbly.  I added a tablespoon of water before I stuck them in the fridge, but they weren’t as moist as I had hoped.  Dividing them into individual bars resulted in a lot of crumbles.  I saved these and poured them over oatmeal the next day.

Now I just need to figure out how to eat 16 bars before they go bad (I wonder if they’ll freeze well?), an what to do with the rest of my protein powder…

Bars

One thought on “Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Protein Bars

Leave a Reply

