Broccoli Quinoa Casserole

Now that I have 4+ pounds of quinoa from a recent Costco trip (thanks, Justine!), I am always looking for new quinoa recipes.  Pinterest helped me find this broccoli quinoa casserole recipe, which looked intriguing:

10 oz can condensed cream of broccoli soup (or mushroom), low-sodium if you prefer
1/3 cup reduced fat mayonnaise
2 tablespoons milk
1 1/4 cups reduced fat shredded cheese (cheddar, colby-jack, etc.)
1/2 teaspoon Splenda/sugar
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
dash freshly grated nutmeg
2 cups cooked broccoli
1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa
freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and coat a shallow (8×8 in or 5-6 cups) casserole dish – or individual ramekins – with vegetable cooking spray.

In a large bowl combine the soup, mayonnaise, milk, shredded cheese, Splenda, pepper, and nutmeg until well mixed. Stir in the quinoa and broccoli.

Spoon mixture into prepared casserole.  Sprinkle on a couple tablespoons of Parmesan and bake for 35-40 minutes (20-25 minutes for ramekins) or until bubbly on the edges and golden.  Makes 8 generous 1/2-cup servings.

Broccoli Quinoa Casserole

Giant was out of all fresh and frozen broccoli (WTF?), so I used a steamer bag of broccoli/cauliflower, which ended up being quite good.  I probably could have used two bags since I am a big fan of both.  I need more recipes involving cauliflower.

I used condensed cream of mushroom soup since the cream of broccoli version was not low sodium.  I could probably add actual mushrooms next time.

Also, I used the “Chipotle” flavor of mayo since it was on sale and reduced fat, and I thought it would give the dish a kick.  It did not disappoint.

This dish is quite tasty with some fresh ground black pepper on top.  I look forward to eating it for the next few days.

P.S. Quinoa aficionados, what is the best way to rinse quinoa without making a mess?  The holes in my sieve are too large.  What if I put a paper towel under it?  I’ve also read that coffee filters work?

Leave a Reply

