Mashed Potatoes

So I have been failing miserably in keeping up with this blog, but at least I have still been cooking!  I’m going to post a bunch of things that I’ve made over the last few weeks.

After the success of the potato soup, I had three leftover potatoes that needed to be used.

Believe it or not, I’d never made mashed potatoes before.  I was always under the impression that they were difficult to make because my mother uses a ricer (which I only recently learned the name of) to mash them.  By the way, why is it called a ricer?  You don’t use it to make rice…

But I learned that boiling and mashing them yourself was much, much easier.  And I like them a little chunky.  Here is the basic recipe I used:

2 pounds baking potatoes, peeled and quartered
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup milk
salt and pepper to taste

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Add potatoes and cook until tender but still firm, about 15 minutes; drain.

In a small saucepan heat butter and milk over low heat until butter is melted.  Using a potato masher or electric beater, slowly blend milk mixture into potatoes until smooth and creamy.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Mashed Potatoes

I seasoned them with garlic salt, parsley, and fresh ground black pepper.

Three potatoes made about three servings worth.  Super easy!  Why did I ever make instant mashed potatoes in college?  Yuck!

Leave a Reply

